Superfoods

Superfoods are some of nature’s greatest gifts. These foods are unique in the range, and amount, of particular nutrients known to promote good health.

A

Apricot
Apricots are a stone fruit that originally came from China, from there they spread to the Middle East and eventually the Mediterranean and Europe, where they are still a big part of local cuisine. Apricots are an excellent source of vitamin C, they also contain B vitamins, beta carotene and fibre.

Artichokes
Artichokes are vegetables that have two distinct varieties. Both are classified as artichokes as they have similar tastes, but the texture, appearance and preparation are totally different. Globe artichokes are a good source of fibre, folate and calcium, while Jerusalem artichokes are a good source of fibre and iron.

Asparagus
Asparagus is a member of the lily family. The spears are the shoots from the crown of the plant which are 20cm underground. It takes up to 3 years for crowns to develop enough to begin producing shoots, but once they do, they can produce for up to 20 years. Asparagus is an excellent source of vitamin K (important for blood clotting) and folate. It is also a good source of vitamin A, B2, B3, C and fibre.

Avocado
AvocadoAvocados are different from all other fruit as they are high in fat. The type of fat found in avocado is predominantly monounsaturated fat, which is also known as the ‘good’ fat. They contain no cholesterol and little saturated fat, making them a healthy food option. Avocados are also a good source of folate and fibre.

B

Banana
The banana plant is not a tree, its actually a giant herb. Thought to have originated in Malaysia, bananas are now grown in most tropical and subtropical countries. They are one of the most popular fruit in the world and serve as a staple food in many countries. Bananas are an excellent source of vitamin B6 which is important for cognitive function and immune function. They are also a good source of fibre, vitamin C, potassium and manganese.

Basil
Basil is an essential summer herb in many recipes and is also a delightful addition to your garden due to its aromatic properties. Depending on the variety of basil the scent may be strong clove, citrus, liquorice or cinnamon. Basil contains a large range of vitamins, minerals and phytonutrients essential for wellbeing.

Beetroot
Beetroot is a root vegetable that originated in southern Europe. It was originally grown for its leaves, although now both the leaves and root are eaten. Beetroot is a great source of antioxidants, contains vitamins C, and B vitamins including folate, and is a source of potassium and fibre.

Bok Choy
Bok choyBok choy, like all asian greens, is highly nutritious. Bok choy is a great source of vitamin C, folate and fibre, and an excellent source of the vitamin A precursor beta-carotene, and numerous health promoting antioxidants.

Broccoli
Broccoli is one of the most widely researched members of the brassica family and is renowned for its health giving properties. Broccoli is known to have a protective effect against cancer. It also contains a wide range of phytochemicals which protect against many chronic diseases.

C

Chia Seeds
Chia SeedsChia seeds are the ripe seeds from the plant Salvia hispanica which is native to Mexico. Chia seeds are a great plant source of the omega-3, are also a good source of fibre and protein, and contain good levels of the bone minerals calcium, magnesium and phosphorus. They have a high antioxidant activity and are low GI.

Coconut
Coconut Ironically, the coconut is not a nut but a drupe – a fruit with a hard stone. Coconut flesh is a source of fibre, iron and folate. It also contains high levels of saturated fat so should be eaten in small amounts.

F

Fennel
FennelFennel is unique in that is can be classified as a vegetable, herb and spice. It has a taste similar to liquorice and aniseed and belongs to the Umbellifereae family and is therefore closely related to parsley, carrots, dill and coriander. Fennel bulbs are a source of fibre, vitamin C and folate. The seeds are sources of fibre, potassium, calcium and iron.

Read more about the health benefits of fennel.

G

Grapefruit
GrapefruitOriginally named ‘forbidden fruit’ in the 1700s, grapefruit are an excellent source of vitamin C, which is essential for healthy teeth, gums and blood vessels and improves iron absorption and immune function.

L

Leeks
LeeksLeeks are a bulb vegetable belonging to the Allium family which also includes garlic, onion and shallots. Leeks are an excellent source of vitamin C, vitamin E and some B vitamins including folate, and they also contain the minerals copper, iron and potassium.

Legumes
LegumesLegumes include lentils, chickpeas, cannellini beans, butter beans, borlotti beans, navy beans, soy beans and many more. They are grouped together as they provide similar nutritional qualities, with soybeans having a very high protein quality score – similar to that of beef, egg and dairy.

Q

Quince
QuinceQuinces are one of the earliest known fruit and are related to apples and pears. Quinces are a good source of vitamin C which is essential for healthy teeth, gums and blood vessels, and improves iron absorption and immune function.

超级食物

超级食物是大自然的馈赠。这些食物所含营养物质的种类和数量都很特别,是健康饮食的上佳之选。

A

杏子 Apricot
杏子是一种源自中国的核果,它们从那里传播到中东,最终到地中海和欧洲,在那里杏子是当地饮食的重要部分。杏子是维生素C的良好来源,另外还含有B族维生素、β-胡萝卜素和纤维。

洋蓟 Artichokes
洋蓟是具有两个不同品种的蔬菜。它们有相似的口感,因此都被归为洋蓟。但它们的质地、外观和准备方式完全不同。朝鲜蓟是纤维、叶酸和钙的优质来源,而菊芋又名洋姜是铁元素和纤维的良好来源。

芦笋 Asparagus
芦笋是百合科的一员。它的枝是从地下20厘米处开始发的芽。通常需要3年的时间,枝冠才可以发芽,而一旦发芽,它可以持续成长20年。芦笋是维生素K(凝血作用)和叶酸的优质来源。也是很好的维生素A,B2,B3,C和纤维的来源。

牛油果 Avocado

Avocado
牛油果,又称“鳄梨”是不同于所有其他的水果,因为它脂肪含量很高。不过在牛油果里的脂肪主要是单不饱和脂肪酸,它也被称为“好”脂肪。它不含胆固醇和饱和脂肪,是一种健康的食物选择。同时也是一个很好的叶酸和纤维的来源。

B

香蕉 Banana
香蕉树不是一棵树,它实际上是一种巨大的药草。一般认为起源于马来西亚,香蕉现在种植在大多数热带和亚热带国家。它是世界上最受欢迎的水果之一,在许多国家作为主食。香蕉是对认知功能和免疫功能有重要作用的维生素B6 的优质来源,也是一个很好的纤维、维生素C、钾和锰的来源。

罗勒 Basil
罗勒是一种夏季草本植物,在许多食谱都是很重要。而且它香气浓郁,也是你的花园里一个很好的点缀。根据品种罗勒的气味可能是强烈的丁香、柑橘、甘草、肉桂。罗勒含有丰富的健康不可缺少的维生素、矿物质和植物营养素。

甜菜 Beetroot
甜菜是一种起源于欧洲南部的植物。最初人们培植它是为了食用它的叶子,现在它的叶子和根都是可以食用的。甜菜根是一个很好的抗氧化剂来源,含有丰富的维生素C,和包含叶酸在内的B族维生素,也是钾和纤维的来源。

白菜 Bok Choy

Bok choy
白菜,像所有的亚洲蔬菜,具有很高的营养价值。白菜是维生素C、叶酸、纤维、维生素A的前体β-胡萝卜素以及许多促进健康的抗氧化剂的极好来源。

西兰花 Broccoli
西兰花是甘蓝型油菜家族最受关注的成员之一,它以其健康的特性而闻名于世。众所周知,花椰菜对癌症有保护作用。它还包含了多种植物化学物质,预防多种慢性疾病。

C

奇亚籽 Chia Seeds

Chia Seeds
奇亚籽是原产墨西哥的芡欧鼠尾草的种子,是欧米茄3重要的植物来源,也富含纤维和蛋白质,并含有良好的骨矿物质钙、镁、磷。有很强的抗氧化功能,血糖指数却很低。
Coconut 椰子

Coconut
椰子并不是一个坚果而是核果的一种。椰肉是纤维、铁盒叶酸的来源。但它同时也含有大量的饱和脂肪,所以也是要少吃。

F

茴香 Fennel
Fennel

茴香是很独特的,它可以作为蔬菜,也可以被归类为香草和香料。它的味道类似甘草,属于八角家族,因此与欧芹、胡萝卜、莳萝、芫荽关系密切。茴香球茎富含纤维、维生素C和叶酸。种子是纤维、钾、钙和铁的来源。

G

葡萄柚 Grapefruit
Grapefruit

葡萄柚在18世纪70年代被称为禁果。它是维生素C的良好来源,而这对于健康的牙齿、牙龈盒血管以及提升铁的吸收和免疫功能都是很重要的。

L

韭菜  Leeks
Leeks

韭菜是鳞茎类蔬菜,和大蒜、洋葱和青葱同属葱属植物家族。韭菜是维生素C、维生素E和B族维生素包括叶酸的良好来源,并含有矿物质铜,铁,钾。

豆类 Legumes
Legumes

豆类包括小扁豆、鹰嘴豆、白豆、奶油豆、意大利豆、菜豆,大豆等。把它们归为一类是因为他们提供了类似的营养质量。而大豆的蛋白质含量尤其高,和牛肉,鸡蛋和奶制品中蛋白质含量相当。

 

Q

温桲 Quince
Quince

榅桲是已知最早的水果之一,与苹果和梨相关。它是维生素C的良好来源,而这对于健康的牙齿、牙龈盒血管以及提升铁的吸收和免疫功能都是很重要的。